Mixed up.

Apr. 19th, 2009 07:28 pm
ysobelle: (Default)
[personal profile] ysobelle
I have a lot of issues with calling out sick. I always feel an insane guilt, and that I don't deserve to stay home when I'm sick. It comes from having a mom who can never hear me say, "I don't feel well," without launching into a litany of, "YOU don't feel well? Well, let me tell you...." I know you know the type.

But last night, whilst devouring KFC with [livejournal.com profile] snugglyevil, I realised the tickle I'd felt in my throat at work was actually an incipient cold. At 8.30, I texted my DM. Since they fired my AM, and the store has no manager, the DM's all we have right now. She's there fairly often, anyway, so though it's not ideal, it usually works. But she didn't text me back. I texted her again at 9.30, and again at 10.45: help, I'm sick. No answer. At 7am, I called. I had almost no voice, but I croaked that I was sick. Again, no answer. I even called the store to have my coworker call her phone, since I figured she was probably just ignoring me. Nothing. I laid down for a little bit longer-- and had some crazy, apocalyptic nightmares-- and when my alarm went off at 8.45, I called yet again.

This time, Lauren's boyfriend answered the phone. While I've met him a few times, and he's seemed quite nice, he didn't seem quite so pleasant this morning. Lauren, he explained, was in with the doctor. She broke her toe a few weeks ago, and has only in the last week or two decided she should get it looked at. Last night, it hurt so much, she apparently made an appointment for this morning. Or they were in the emergency room. I wasn't really sure. But one thing was very clear: with no one to cover for me-- we have four salespeople, total-- I had to go in, sick or not. Early-shift was in from 6.30 to 4, Closer-- who is shifty, dishonest, has never once taken responsibility for a single one of her many fuckups, and is unbearably whiny-- was in from 5 to 10. I was scheduled from 10 to 6. Despite the fact that we've all worked for hours alone in the store, today could not be one of those days. Tough shit, in other words.

If this were my own shop, I'd have no problems. But it isn't. I have no stake in the business other than my affection for the place. I resent being told, "You can't take time off. You can't be sick. You have to come in anyway." I'm also not sure it's an ethical business practise.

But like I said, I'm not sure I'm seeing it clearly. I'm also, of course, sick.

Just my opinion, but...

Date: 2009-04-20 01:31 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wednesday42.livejournal.com
... if you need the money and don't have any other job options, then you prolly have to lump it. If there are other possibilities out there, I'd say start checking 'em out. Just my $.02, and I hope you feel better soon!

July 2018

S M T W T F S
123456 7
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:51 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios